menu

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly
by Danielle Jawando




Overview -
An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down. From an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize
Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize
Shortlisted for the Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award
?Longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal

When fifteen-year-old Nathan discovers that his older brother Al, has taken his own life, his whole world is torn apart.
Al was special.
Al was talented.
Al had so many dreams ... so why did he do it?


Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al’s footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive. Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al’s death when they eventually discover what happened? #BurnBright

Praise for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly:

‘Jawando’s writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed’ Alice Oseman

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence

'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle

‘An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!’ Melvin Burgess

Warning - this novel contains themes that some readers may find upsetting, including suicide and intense bullying.

  Read Full Product Description
 

Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
 
 

More About And the Stars Were Burning Brightly by Danielle Jawando

 
 
 

Overview

An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down. From an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize
Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize
Shortlisted for the Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award
?Longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal

When fifteen-year-old Nathan discovers that his older brother Al, has taken his own life, his whole world is torn apart.
Al was special.
Al was talented.
Al had so many dreams ... so why did he do it?


Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al’s footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive. Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al’s death when they eventually discover what happened? #BurnBright

Praise for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly:

‘Jawando’s writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed’ Alice Oseman

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence

'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle

‘An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!’ Melvin Burgess

Warning - this novel contains themes that some readers may find upsetting, including suicide and intense bullying.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN: 9781471178788
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
  • Imprint: Simon & Schuster Children's UK
  • Date: Mar 2020
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Simon and Schuster
 

BAM Customer Reviews