menu

The Story in the Picture : Inquiry and Artmaking with Young Children
by Christine Mulcahey




Overview -

This book provides teachers with the skills, and freedom, to design rich and open–ended art experiences for young children. The author demonstrates that using fine art reproductions in the early childhood curriculum allows children to construct their own meanings, teaches diversity, fosters thinking skills, and encourages storytelling. Based on the NAEYC and NAEA standards, this teacher–friendly resource includes lesson ideas, examples of activities, and photographs of children.

"The Story in the Picture has the capacity to have a profound impact on how art is viewed by educators by changing the art experience from one of insignificance to one that contributes greatly to the cognitive growth of the child."

—Sharon Shaffer, Executive Director, Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center

"Christine Mulcahey's watchwords are freedom, creativity, and imagination. . . . One can almost feel perspectives opening on her side of the looking glass as children's voices break through the hush, and we come in touch with the unexpected."

—From the Foreword by Maxine Greene, Teachers College, Columbia University

"Early childhood teachers will find this well–written, engaging, and easy–to–read book to be a gift! It makes sense of current research on early childhood and art and speaks to many common insecurities with easy–to–implement suggestions for the classroom."

—Cathy Topal, Smith College

"In the tradition of Geraldine Dimondstein and W. Lambert Brittain, Christine Mulcahey shares wise counsel gleaned from conversations with young children about the art they make and the art that they encounter in richly varied preschool programs.

—Christine Marmé Thompson, Pennsylvania State University

  Read Full Product Description
 
eBook

Retail Price: $23.95
$19.31

(Save 19%)

Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
Language: English

 
 
 
 

More About The Story in the Picture by Christine Mulcahey

 
 
 

Overview

This book provides teachers with the skills, and freedom, to design rich and open–ended art experiences for young children. The author demonstrates that using fine art reproductions in the early childhood curriculum allows children to construct their own meanings, teaches diversity, fosters thinking skills, and encourages storytelling. Based on the NAEYC and NAEA standards, this teacher–friendly resource includes lesson ideas, examples of activities, and photographs of children.

"The Story in the Picture has the capacity to have a profound impact on how art is viewed by educators by changing the art experience from one of insignificance to one that contributes greatly to the cognitive growth of the child."

—Sharon Shaffer, Executive Director, Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center

"Christine Mulcahey's watchwords are freedom, creativity, and imagination. . . . One can almost feel perspectives opening on her side of the looking glass as children's voices break through the hush, and we come in touch with the unexpected."

—From the Foreword by Maxine Greene, Teachers College, Columbia University

"Early childhood teachers will find this well–written, engaging, and easy–to–read book to be a gift! It makes sense of current research on early childhood and art and speaks to many common insecurities with easy–to–implement suggestions for the classroom."

—Cathy Topal, Smith College

"In the tradition of Geraldine Dimondstein and W. Lambert Brittain, Christine Mulcahey shares wise counsel gleaned from conversations with young children about the art they make and the art that they encounter in richly varied preschool programs.

—Christine Marmé Thompson, Pennsylvania State University


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN: 9780807776544
  • Publisher: Teachers College Press
  • Date: Oct 2017
 

BAM Customer Reviews