menu

Sugaring Off
by Gillian French




Overview -

A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss--with a dash of thrilling mystery--for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers.

Left partially deaf by an early childhood tragedy that ended in her father's incarceration, seventeen-year-old Owl is now a tracker, an explorer, a wildlife enthusiast, and always her freest self while hiking the steep forested acres surrounding her aunt and uncle's maple sugar farm, now her home. Owl and her aunt and uncle never speak of the brutal attack that brought her to them. On the day she confronts a stranger trespassing among the maples, Owl's sheltered existence is blown wide open by Cody--the magnetic, dangerous young man hired to help with the sugaring off. Cody seems to see her, the real her, in a way no one else does. Together, they challenge each other, learn to question their preconceptions, and risk a romance their families are desperate to stop.

But when Owl learns that some part of Cody is compelled toward self-destruction, she must make a difficult decision about their relationship at the same time she's grappling with her father's recent release from prison. And when a seemingly motiveless local murder draws attention to Cody, Owl realizes that Cody is in far more serious trouble than anyone knows--and it's followed him to her mountain.

  Read Full Product Description
 
PRE-ORDER NOW:
local_shippingFor Delivery
Preorder. This item will be available on November 1, 2022 .
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
 
 
 

More About Sugaring Off by Gillian French

 
 
 

Overview

A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss--with a dash of thrilling mystery--for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers.

Left partially deaf by an early childhood tragedy that ended in her father's incarceration, seventeen-year-old Owl is now a tracker, an explorer, a wildlife enthusiast, and always her freest self while hiking the steep forested acres surrounding her aunt and uncle's maple sugar farm, now her home. Owl and her aunt and uncle never speak of the brutal attack that brought her to them. On the day she confronts a stranger trespassing among the maples, Owl's sheltered existence is blown wide open by Cody--the magnetic, dangerous young man hired to help with the sugaring off. Cody seems to see her, the real her, in a way no one else does. Together, they challenge each other, learn to question their preconceptions, and risk a romance their families are desperate to stop.

But when Owl learns that some part of Cody is compelled toward self-destruction, she must make a difficult decision about their relationship at the same time she's grappling with her father's recent release from prison. And when a seemingly motiveless local murder draws attention to Cody, Owl realizes that Cody is in far more serious trouble than anyone knows--and it's followed him to her mountain.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781643752709
  • ISBN-10: 1643752707
  • Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
  • Publish Date: November 2022
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-18


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews