Symptoms of Being Human
by Jeff Garvin


Overview -

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
 
 
 
Overview

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062382870
  • ISBN-10: 006238287X
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: November 2017
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.57 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Bullying
Books > Young Adult Fiction > LGBT
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews