menu

23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism
by Ha-Joon Chang




Overview -

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

For anyone who wants to understand capitalism not as economists or politicians have pictured it but as it actually operates, this book will be invaluable.-Observer (UK)

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, How to Rebuild the World, Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $5.84
 
 
 
 

More About 23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang

 
 
 

Overview

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

For anyone who wants to understand capitalism not as economists or politicians have pictured it but as it actually operates, this book will be invaluable.-Observer (UK)

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, How to Rebuild the World, Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781608193387
  • ISBN-10: 1608193381
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publish Date: January 2012
  • Page Count: 288
  • Dimensions: 8.15 x 5.57 x 0.79 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews