menu
{ "item_title" : "The Upside of Irrationality", "item_author" : [" Dan Ariely "], "item_description" : "New York Times BestsellerDan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act. -- James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely offers a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?Why is revenge so important to us?How can confusing directions actually help us?Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home--and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers1.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/06/199/504/0061995045_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "18.99", "online_price" : "18.99", "our_price" : "18.99", "club_price" : "18.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Upside of Irrationality|Dan Ariely
The Upside of Irrationality : The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

New York Times Bestseller

"Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act." -- James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely offers a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?

Why is revenge so important to us?

How can confusing directions actually help us?

Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home--and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780061995040
  • ISBN-10: 0061995045
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial
  • Publish Date: May 2011
  • Dimensions: 8.05 x 5.34 x 0.89 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds
  • Page Count: 368

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews