The Very Best of the Staple Singers
The Staple Singers

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About The Very Best of the Staple Singers



Track Listing

1 Long Walk to D.C.
2 Ghetto, The
3 (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay
4 When Will We Be Paid
5 Brand New Day (Theme from the Landlord)
6 Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)
7 Love Is Plentiful
8 Who Took the Merry out of Christmas
9 You've Got to Earn It
10 Respect Yourself
11 I'll Take You There
12 This World
13 Oh La de Da
14 Be What You Are
15 If You're Ready (Come Go with Me)
16 Touch a Hand, Make a Friend
17 City in the Sky
18 My Main Man/There Is a God: My Main Man / There Is A God
19 Back Road into Town
20 I Got to Be Myself



  • Genre: R&B
  • Release Date: June 2007
  • Label: Stax
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Cheryl Pawelski (Compilation); Rob Bowman (Compilation)

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Q (Magazine) (p.134) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Mavis Staples's grittily sensual voice, lyrics that reflected the concerns of black America and the ace Muscle Shoals rhythms section made a potent team..."


BAM Customer Reviews