menu

Vathek
by William Beckford and Joe Lansdale and Leslie Klinger




Overview -

A chilling addition to the Haunted Library of Horror Classics.

When you have all you could ever want--power, wealth, influence, status--what's left to wish for?

First published in 1786, William Beckford's classic tale combines the lush setting of The Arabian Nights with a gothic nightmare. Vathek, the fierce ninth caliph of the Abassides, has the world at his feet. Nothing is beyond his grasp, until a hideous stranger sells him glowing swords with letters on them that cannot be translated even by experts--because the letters keep changing as if by magic

Obsessed with obtaining the stranger's knowledge, Vathek undertakes an increasingly horrific search as he ventures into the underworld, meeting demons and witches. Will anything be enough to turn him from his foolish and terrifying quest? Or will the lust for power prove too strong to resist?

Featuring an introduction by acclaimed writer Joe R. Lansdale, the Haunted Library of Horror Classics is proud to present this classic gothic horror novel.

A timeless exploration of power, greed, and often elusive redemption, this shining example of literary occult horror poses the question: are the answers to ancient secrets worth your soul?

  • Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Bram Stoker
  • For readers who enjoy classical literature and horror novels
  • Collect all of the Haunted Library of Horror Classics

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 48 copies from $8.20
 
 
 
 

More About Vathek by William Beckford; Joe Lansdale; Leslie Klinger

 
 
 

Overview

A chilling addition to the Haunted Library of Horror Classics.

When you have all you could ever want--power, wealth, influence, status--what's left to wish for?

First published in 1786, William Beckford's classic tale combines the lush setting of The Arabian Nights with a gothic nightmare. Vathek, the fierce ninth caliph of the Abassides, has the world at his feet. Nothing is beyond his grasp, until a hideous stranger sells him glowing swords with letters on them that cannot be translated even by experts--because the letters keep changing as if by magic

Obsessed with obtaining the stranger's knowledge, Vathek undertakes an increasingly horrific search as he ventures into the underworld, meeting demons and witches. Will anything be enough to turn him from his foolish and terrifying quest? Or will the lust for power prove too strong to resist?

Featuring an introduction by acclaimed writer Joe R. Lansdale, the Haunted Library of Horror Classics is proud to present this classic gothic horror novel.

A timeless exploration of power, greed, and often elusive redemption, this shining example of literary occult horror poses the question: are the answers to ancient secrets worth your soul?

  • Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Bram Stoker
  • For readers who enjoy classical literature and horror novels
  • Collect all of the Haunted Library of Horror Classics

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781492699743
  • ISBN-10: 1492699748
  • Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
  • Publish Date: August 2020
  • Page Count: 176
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds

Series: Haunted Library Horror Classics

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews