menu

We Are the Fire
by Sam Taylor




Overview -

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana--both taken from their homeland at a young age--only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

Praise for We Are the Fire:

Bold and immersive, We Are the Fire is a strong new addition to the YA fantasy canon, full of characters with heart fighting despite their circumstances. --Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous--and what it costs to be human. --Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart. --Culturess

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $15.21
 
 
 
 

More About We Are the Fire by Sam Taylor

 
 
 

Overview

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana--both taken from their homeland at a young age--only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

Praise for We Are the Fire:

Bold and immersive, We Are the Fire is a strong new addition to the YA fantasy canon, full of characters with heart fighting despite their circumstances. --Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous--and what it costs to be human. --Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart. --Culturess


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250241429
  • ISBN-10: 1250241421
  • Publisher: Swoon Reads
  • Publish Date: February 2021
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-18
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews