menu

Where We Used to Roam
by Jenn Bishop




Overview -
“Sensitively told and heartfelt…will open up many difficult, but important conversations.” —Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home

In this powerful middle grade novel from the acclaimed author of Things You Can’t Say, a young girl struggles to find her place while her older brother fights to overcome opioid addiction—perfect for fans of The Seventh Wish and Violets Are Blue.

When Emma starts sixth grade, things finally begin to change. She may still be in the shadow of her older brother, Austin, the popular high school quarterback, but she’s made artsy new friends who get her way more than her bookish best friend, Becca.

But things are changing for Austin, too. After undergoing surgery for a football injury, Austin has become addicted to opioid painkillers. By the end of the school year, everything blows up with Austin—and Becca. When their parents decide to send Austin to rehab and Emma to stay with family friends in Wyoming for the summer, Emma seizes the chance to get away.

Wyoming turns out to be a perfect fresh start, especially after Emma makes friends with Tyler, a kindred spirit who doesn’t judge her—then again, he doesn’t know what she did to Becca. Still, Emma can’t hide forever…or go back to the way things were with Austin or with Becca. But can she find a way to confront the truth and move forward?

  Read Full Product Description
 

Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 

FREE Shipping for Club Members help
Not a member? Join Today!

 
 
 
 
 

More About Where We Used to Roam by Jenn Bishop

 
 
 

Overview

“Sensitively told and heartfelt…will open up many difficult, but important conversations.” —Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home

In this powerful middle grade novel from the acclaimed author of Things You Can’t Say, a young girl struggles to find her place while her older brother fights to overcome opioid addiction—perfect for fans of The Seventh Wish and Violets Are Blue.

When Emma starts sixth grade, things finally begin to change. She may still be in the shadow of her older brother, Austin, the popular high school quarterback, but she’s made artsy new friends who get her way more than her bookish best friend, Becca.

But things are changing for Austin, too. After undergoing surgery for a football injury, Austin has become addicted to opioid painkillers. By the end of the school year, everything blows up with Austin—and Becca. When their parents decide to send Austin to rehab and Emma to stay with family friends in Wyoming for the summer, Emma seizes the chance to get away.

Wyoming turns out to be a perfect fresh start, especially after Emma makes friends with Tyler, a kindred spirit who doesn’t judge her—then again, he doesn’t know what she did to Becca. Still, Emma can’t hide forever…or go back to the way things were with Austin or with Becca. But can she find a way to confront the truth and move forward?


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN: 9781534457317
  • Publisher: Aladdin
  • Imprint: Aladdin
  • Date: Mar 2021
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Simon and Schuster
 

BAM Customer Reviews