We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It : A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood
by Tom Phelan


Overview - In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields , Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s .  Read more...

 

Download

Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $24.00
  • $21.36

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!

 
 
 
 
 

More About We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It by Tom Phelan
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.

Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise and demanding father as he sought to wrest a livelihood from a farm that was often wet, muddy, and back-breaking.

It was a time before rural electrification, the telephone, and indoor plumbing; a time when the main modes of travel were bicycle and animal cart; a time when small farmers struggled to survive and turkey eggs were hatched in the kitchen cupboard; a time when the Church exerted enormous control over Ireland.

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It recounts Tom’s upbringing in an isolated, rural community from the day he was delivered by the local midwife. With tears and laughter, it speaks to the strength of the human spirit in the face of life's adversities.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN: 9781501197116
  • Publisher: Gallery Books
  • Imprint: Gallery Books
  • Date: Mar 2019
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Simon and Schuster
 
BAM Customer Reviews