menu

Well, This Is Exhausting : Essays
by Sophia Benoit




Overview -
From Bustle columnist and Twitter sensation Sophia Benoit, this "charming and often laugh-out-loud funny" (Vogue) memoir-in-essays explores the ins and outs of modern womanhood--from finding feminism, the power of pop culture, and how to navigate life's constant double standards--perfect for fans of Shrill and PEN15.

Like so many women, Sophia spent her formative years struggling to do the "right" thing--to make others comfortable, to take minimal and calculated risks, to live up to society's expectations--only to realize that there was so little payoff to this tiresome balancing act. Tired of trying so hard, Sophia finally let go of the crushing pressure to be perfect.

She navigates the highs and lows of the dating world (high: being a beta tester for Bumble; low: hastily shaving her legs before a hotel hookup and getting blood all over the sheets), and walks the line between being a "chill" girl and making sure her boyfriend's nonchalance about altitude sickness doesn't get him killed. She learns what it means to be a feminist, how to embrace her own voice, and when to listen to women who have been through more and have been doing the work longer.

With topics ranging from how to be the life of the party (even when you have crippling anxiety), to an ill-fated consultation with a dietician who deemed Sophia's overindulgence in ketchup a serious health risk, to a masterful argument for why no one should judge you for having an encyclopedic knowledge of reality TV, Well, This Is Exhausting is not only "one of the funniest books you'll read this year, but it's also one of the most important" (Shondaland).

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $27.00
  • $22.41
    (Save 17%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 47 copies from $13.75
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Well, This Is Exhausting by Sophia Benoit

 
 
 

Overview

From Bustle columnist and Twitter sensation Sophia Benoit, this "charming and often laugh-out-loud funny" (Vogue) memoir-in-essays explores the ins and outs of modern womanhood--from finding feminism, the power of pop culture, and how to navigate life's constant double standards--perfect for fans of Shrill and PEN15.

Like so many women, Sophia spent her formative years struggling to do the "right" thing--to make others comfortable, to take minimal and calculated risks, to live up to society's expectations--only to realize that there was so little payoff to this tiresome balancing act. Tired of trying so hard, Sophia finally let go of the crushing pressure to be perfect.

She navigates the highs and lows of the dating world (high: being a beta tester for Bumble; low: hastily shaving her legs before a hotel hookup and getting blood all over the sheets), and walks the line between being a "chill" girl and making sure her boyfriend's nonchalance about altitude sickness doesn't get him killed. She learns what it means to be a feminist, how to embrace her own voice, and when to listen to women who have been through more and have been doing the work longer.

With topics ranging from how to be the life of the party (even when you have crippling anxiety), to an ill-fated consultation with a dietician who deemed Sophia's overindulgence in ketchup a serious health risk, to a masterful argument for why no one should judge you for having an encyclopedic knowledge of reality TV, Well, This Is Exhausting is not only "one of the funniest books you'll read this year, but it's also one of the most important" (Shondaland).

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781982151935
  • ISBN-10: 1982151935
  • Publisher: Gallery Books
  • Publish Date: July 2021
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.3 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews