menu
{ "item_title" : "A Whisper of Smoke", "item_author" : [" Angela Hoke "], "item_description" : "In 1960s Kentucky, Susanna Braden's caught between protecting her younger siblings from her mother's perniciousness and other lurking dangers, and battling the growing love she feels for her best friend, Calvin. But when family secrets emerge that threaten to destroy her carefully cultivated illusion of safety and Calvin is deployed to Vietnam, Susanna is forced to reexamine the concepts of love, honor, and forgiveness - and it just may be the key to redemption for them all.Four-time award winner A WHISPER OF SMOKE delivers a coming-of-age love story that is rich and deeply sensitive, and reminds us how exciting, beautiful and painful growing up really is. In 1960's Kentucky, Susanna is the responsible one in the family, always looking out for everyone else. But when secrets emerge that threaten to tear her family apart, Susanna's had enough and all she wants is to escape. She retreats to the sanctuary of the farm next door and her friendship with Calvin who, in her mind, represents everything she believes her family isn't -- true, honorable, good -- and she can't help but fall for him. But then Calvin deploys to Vietnam, in love with someone else and even more out of reach than ever. In the meantime, things at home go from bad to worse, just as Susanna's sense of honor, and fault, are challenged by Calvin's experiences in war. Now, even as her love for Calvin threatens to destroy her, she finds herself at a crossroads - continue running away or face the awful truth, and it all boils down to a choice between fear and hope. For fans of Sue Monk Kidd, Wally Lamb, Kristin Hannah and Nicholas Sparks, A WHISPER OF SMOKE is a beautiful, heart-wrenching story that will grab your heart and leave you breathless. Winner of the 2015 National Indie Excellence Book Award for Women's Fiction, the 2015 Readers' Favorite Gold Medal for Women's Fiction, the 2014 Maggie Award for Excellence and the 2014 Heart of Denver Aspen Gold Award, and Finalist for the 2015 International Book Award. TRIGGER WARNING: Mild depiction of childhood sexual abuse.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers2.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/49/210/969/149210969X_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "12.99", "online_price" : "12.99", "our_price" : "12.99", "club_price" : "12.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
A Whisper of Smoke|Angela Hoke
A Whisper of Smoke
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

In 1960s Kentucky, Susanna Braden's caught between protecting her younger siblings from her mother's perniciousness and other lurking dangers, and battling the growing love she feels for her best friend, Calvin. But when family secrets emerge that threaten to destroy her carefully cultivated illusion of safety and Calvin is deployed to Vietnam, Susanna is forced to reexamine the concepts of love, honor, and forgiveness - and it just may be the key to redemption for them all.Four-time award winner A WHISPER OF SMOKE delivers a coming-of-age love story that is rich and deeply sensitive, and "reminds us how exciting, beautiful and painful growing up really is." In 1960's Kentucky, Susanna is the responsible one in the family, always looking out for everyone else. But when secrets emerge that threaten to tear her family apart, Susanna's had enough and all she wants is to escape. She retreats to the sanctuary of the farm next door and her friendship with Calvin who, in her mind, represents everything she believes her family isn't -- true, honorable, good -- and she can't help but fall for him. But then Calvin deploys to Vietnam, in love with someone else and even more out of reach than ever. In the meantime, things at home go from bad to worse, just as Susanna's sense of honor, and fault, are challenged by Calvin's experiences in war. Now, even as her love for Calvin threatens to destroy her, she finds herself at a crossroads - continue running away or face the awful truth, and it all boils down to a choice between fear and hope. For fans of Sue Monk Kidd, Wally Lamb, Kristin Hannah and Nicholas Sparks, A WHISPER OF SMOKE is a "beautiful, heart-wrenching story" that will grab your heart and leave you breathless. Winner of the 2015 National Indie Excellence Book Award for Women's Fiction, the 2015 Readers' Favorite Gold Medal for Women's Fiction, the 2014 Maggie Award for Excellence and the 2014 Heart of Denver Aspen Gold Award, and Finalist for the 2015 International Book Award. TRIGGER WARNING: Mild depiction of childhood sexual abuse.

This item is Non-Returnable

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781492109693
  • ISBN-10: 149210969X
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publish Date: August 2013
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.72 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.04 pounds
  • Page Count: 320

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews