menu

Winterhouse
by Ben Guterson and Chloe Bristol




Overview -

An Edgar Award Finalist
An Agatha Award Finalist

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel's curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

"Clever and captivating." --Kirkus Reviews

A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. --School Library Journal

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $3.31
 
 
 
 

More About Winterhouse by Ben Guterson; Chloe Bristol

 
 
 

Overview

An Edgar Award Finalist
An Agatha Award Finalist

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel's curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

"Clever and captivating." --Kirkus Reviews

A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. --School Library Journal


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250294197
  • ISBN-10: 1250294193
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Publish Date: October 2018
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds

Series: Winterhouse #1

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews