menu
{ "item_title" : "Winterhouse", "item_author" : [" Ben Guterson", "Chloe Bristol "], "item_description" : "An Edgar Award FinalistAn Agatha Award FinalistAn enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets. Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel's curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself? Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets. Christy Ottaviano Books Praise for Winterhouse: An Indie Next List PickClever and captivating. --Kirkus Reviews A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. --School Library Journal", "item_img_path" : "https://covers2.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/25/029/419/1250294193_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "8.99", "online_price" : "8.99", "our_price" : "8.99", "club_price" : "8.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "8.99" } }
Winterhouse|Ben Guterson
Winterhouse
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

An Edgar Award Finalist
An Agatha Award Finalist

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel's curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

"Clever and captivating." --Kirkus Reviews

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." --School Library Journal

  • ISBN-13: 9781250294197
  • ISBN-10: 1250294193
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Publish Date: October 2018
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12