menu

As You Wish
by Chelsea Sedoti




Overview -

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a thought-provoking contemporary young adult book about a small desert town filled with Mojave magic where everyone gets to make a wish on their eighteenth birthday. If you could make one wish that was guaranteed to come true--what would you wish for?

Rules for Wishing:

  1. Never let an outsider find out about wishing. (Zip your lips and throw away the key.)
  2. Wishes that would impact the world are off limits (i.e. no bringing back the dinosaurs).
  3. Do no harm. (Murder = no bueno.)
  4. No time travel. (What's done is done, pal.)
  5. No bringing back the dead. (Come on. You've seen what happens in THE WALKING DEAD.)
  6. NEVER BREAK THE RULES. (Seriously. We mean it. See Rule #7.)
  7. There are always consequences.

Most of Eldon's classmates have had their wishes picked out for months, even years. Not Eldon. He's seen how wishing has hurt the people around him. His parents' marriage is strained, his sister is a virtual ghost in their house, his ex-girlfriend is dating his ex-friend...where does he even begin?

One thing is for sure: Eldon has only twenty-six days to figure it out--and the rest of his life to live with the consequences.

Perfect for:

  • Readers who like magical realism YA
  • Fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and The Sun is Also a Star
  • Educators and parents who want to start conversations about consequences
  • People looking for young adult books best sellers

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:
It Came from the Sky
The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Praise for As You Wish:
"Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance."--Booklist
"Poignant... Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be?"--Kirkus
"An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time."--Horn Book Magazine
"Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create--all while being easy to read and hard to put down."--VOYA

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 83 copies from $3.45
 
 
 
 

More About As You Wish by Chelsea Sedoti

 
 
 

Overview

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a thought-provoking contemporary young adult book about a small desert town filled with Mojave magic where everyone gets to make a wish on their eighteenth birthday. If you could make one wish that was guaranteed to come true--what would you wish for?

Rules for Wishing:

  1. Never let an outsider find out about wishing. (Zip your lips and throw away the key.)
  2. Wishes that would impact the world are off limits (i.e. no bringing back the dinosaurs).
  3. Do no harm. (Murder = no bueno.)
  4. No time travel. (What's done is done, pal.)
  5. No bringing back the dead. (Come on. You've seen what happens in THE WALKING DEAD.)
  6. NEVER BREAK THE RULES. (Seriously. We mean it. See Rule #7.)
  7. There are always consequences.

Most of Eldon's classmates have had their wishes picked out for months, even years. Not Eldon. He's seen how wishing has hurt the people around him. His parents' marriage is strained, his sister is a virtual ghost in their house, his ex-girlfriend is dating his ex-friend...where does he even begin?

One thing is for sure: Eldon has only twenty-six days to figure it out--and the rest of his life to live with the consequences.

Perfect for:

  • Readers who like magical realism YA
  • Fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and The Sun is Also a Star
  • Educators and parents who want to start conversations about consequences
  • People looking for young adult books best sellers

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:
It Came from the Sky
The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Praise for As You Wish:
"Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance."--Booklist
"Poignant... Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be?"--Kirkus
"An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time."--Horn Book Magazine
"Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create--all while being easy to read and hard to put down."--VOYA



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781492642312
  • ISBN-10: 1492642312
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
  • Publish Date: January 2018
  • Page Count: 432
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.9 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

One chance to change a life

Seventeen-year-old Eldon Wilkes counts the days in Madison—a dump of a town in the Mojave Desert—where he pumps gas to make ends meet. The only cool person in his family, his sister Ebba, is unresponsive in a care facility. But the town of Madison has a well-kept secret: Every resident on their 18th birthday walks deep into a cavern on the edge of town and makes a wish that comes true.

Eldon has 25 days to decide on his wish. His mom urges him to wish for money to hire specialists to heal his sister, but Eldon worries she’s beyond saving. Eldon decides to interview the people of Madison about their wishes and studies a history book that lists every wish ever made. From what he can tell, nary a wish has improved the lives of the wisher or anyone else.

In As You Wish, author Chelsea Sedoti (The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett) masterfully crafts a tale that draws together the stories of an entire town’s residents while focusing on Eldon and his friends. Through Eldon’s wrenching struggles, we see how the possibility of getting what you think you want is fraught with complications. Despite the magical elements, Eldon’s actions and longings ring true, reminding us that every day serves up life-altering choices, both large and small.

 

This article was originally published in the January 2018 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 

BAM Customer Reviews