The Yamas & Niyamas|Deborah Adele
The Yamas & Niyamas : Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help


The first two limbs of the eight-fold path of yoga sutras--the basic text for classical yoga--are examined in this spiritual guide to the practice of yoga. Foundational to all yogic thought, they are considered to be the guidelines to the yoga way of living that free individuals to take ownership of their lives, direct them toward the fulfillment they seek, and gain the skills to choose attitude, thought, and action. The first five guidelines are referred to as the yamas--a Sanskrit word that translates to restraints--and encompass nonviolence, truthfulness, not stealing, nonexcess, and nonpossessiveness. The last five are referred to as the niyamas, or observances--purity, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and surrender. A self-study section at the end of each chapter may also be used by instructors for group discussion.


  • ISBN-13: 9780974470641
  • ISBN-10: 0974470643
  • Publisher: On-Word Bound Books
  • Publish Date: September 2009
  • Dimensions: 7.4 x 5.2 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds
  • Page Count: 192