The Road to Home : My Life and Times
by Vartan Gregorian


Overview - In this humorous, learned, and moving memoir, Vartan Gregorian recounts his journey from an impoverished childhood as a Christian Armenian in Muslim Tabriz to cultured citizen of the world.
Gregorian's odyssey begins in an obscure poor quarter of a provincial city (thought by some to be the location of the Garden of Eden).
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $22.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 18.39
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock. Allow Additional 1 Week for Shipping.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $4.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Road to Home by Vartan Gregorian
 
 
 
Overview
In this humorous, learned, and moving memoir, Vartan Gregorian recounts his journey from an impoverished childhood as a Christian Armenian in Muslim Tabriz to cultured citizen of the world.
Gregorian's odyssey begins in an obscure poor quarter of a provincial city (thought by some to be the location of the Garden of Eden). Childhood centered on his brilliant, beloved, illiterate grandmother who taught him so much, the beauty of Church, school, American movies, and the larger world he read about in his borrowed books. From there, he continued on to a Beirut lyc e, Stanford University, and the presidencies of the New York Public Library, Brown University, and Carnegie Corporation.
Like Jimmy Carter in An Hour Before Daylight, and in the tradition of Nabokov, Jill Ker Conway, and V. S. Naipaul, he tells us that education is an openness to everything, and describes his public and private life as one education after another. This is a love story about life.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780743255653
  • ISBN-10: 0743255658
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: May 2004
  • Page Count: 354
  • Dimensions: 8.42 x 5.48 x 0.98 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Educators
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Books > Social Science > Emigration & Immigration

 
BAM Customer Reviews