This Tender Land : A Novel
by William Kent Krueger


Overview - For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

1932, Minnesota—the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

  Read Full Product Description
 

PRE-ORDER NOW: PREORDER NOW: Download on
September 03, 2019

Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $27.00
  • $18.90

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
Preorder. This item will ship on September 3, 2019.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!

 
 
 
 
 

More About This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

1932, Minnesota—the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN: 9781476749310
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Imprint: Atria Books
  • Date: Sept 2019
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Simon and Schuster
 
BAM Customer Reviews