Driver's Education
by Grant Ginder


Overview - Grant Ginder's second novel, "a sensitively observed story about storytelling" (The New Yorker), takes readers on a twenty-first century road trip that "should appeal to fans of Junot Diaz and Michael Chabon" (Booklist).

FINN McPHEE EDITS A REALITY TV SHOW. His father, Colin, is a screenwriter. Both are adept at spinning fictions, a skill passed down to them by McPhee patriarch Alistair, whose wild yarns never failed to capture Finn's youthful imagination--even as they cast a fragile veil over a past marked by devastating loss, unbearable love, and an incessant longing for a life whose heroic proportions could measure up to the breathtakingly vivid color of Alistair's dreams. As Finn embarks on a road trip across America with his best friend, Randal, and a three-legged cat named Mrs. Dalloway in a last-chance bid to make his grandfather's dreams come true, he will finally learn that the truth, though not always stranger than fiction, can sometimes make the best story of all.

  Read Full Product Description
 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
> Check In-Store Availability
search store by zipcode
In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $7.16
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Driver's Education by Grant Ginder
 
 
 
Overview
Grant Ginder's second novel, "a sensitively observed story about storytelling" (The New Yorker), takes readers on a twenty-first century road trip that "should appeal to fans of Junot Diaz and Michael Chabon" (Booklist).

FINN McPHEE EDITS A REALITY TV SHOW. His father, Colin, is a screenwriter. Both are adept at spinning fictions, a skill passed down to them by McPhee patriarch Alistair, whose wild yarns never failed to capture Finn's youthful imagination--even as they cast a fragile veil over a past marked by devastating loss, unbearable love, and an incessant longing for a life whose heroic proportions could measure up to the breathtakingly vivid color of Alistair's dreams. As Finn embarks on a road trip across America with his best friend, Randal, and a three-legged cat named Mrs. Dalloway in a last-chance bid to make his grandfather's dreams come true, he will finally learn that the truth, though not always stranger than fiction, can sometimes make the best story of all.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781439187364
  • ISBN-10: 1439187363
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: December 2013
  • Page Count: 256
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews