menu

The City of Gold and Lead
by John Christopher




Overview -
Will and his friends return to the City of the Tripods--and risk their lives--in this second book of a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave and Margaret Peterson Haddix's Shadow Children series.

When Will and his friends arrived at the White Mountains, they thought everything would be okay. They'd found a safe haven where the mechanical monsters called Tripods could not find them. But once there, they wonder about the world around them and how they are faring against the machines.

In order to save everyone else, Will and his friends want to take down the Tripods once and for all. That means journeying to the Tripod capital: the City of Gold and Lead.

Although the journey will be difficult, the real danger comes once Will is inside the city, where Tripods roam freely and humans are even more enslaved than they are on the outside. Without anyone to help him, Will must learn the secrets of the Tripods--and how to take them down--before they figure out that he's a spy...and he can only pretend to be brainwashed for so long.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $3.45
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The City of Gold and Lead by John Christopher

 
 
 

Overview

Will and his friends return to the City of the Tripods--and risk their lives--in this second book of a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave and Margaret Peterson Haddix's Shadow Children series.

When Will and his friends arrived at the White Mountains, they thought everything would be okay. They'd found a safe haven where the mechanical monsters called Tripods could not find them. But once there, they wonder about the world around them and how they are faring against the machines.

In order to save everyone else, Will and his friends want to take down the Tripods once and for all. That means journeying to the Tripod capital: the City of Gold and Lead.

Although the journey will be difficult, the real danger comes once Will is inside the city, where Tripods roam freely and humans are even more enslaved than they are on the outside. Without anyone to help him, Will must learn the secrets of the Tripods--and how to take them down--before they figure out that he's a spy...and he can only pretend to be brainwashed for so long.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781481414753
  • ISBN-10: 1481414755
  • Publisher: Aladdin Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: May 2014
  • Page Count: 249
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-13
  • Dimensions: 7.5 x 5.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds

Series: Tripods (Paperback) #2

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews