menu

The Memory of Forgotten Things
by Kat Zhang




Overview -
"A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility." --School Library Journal
"A pleasure to read...full of heart and imagination." --Kirkus Reviews
"Zhang's story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist--a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance." --Publishers Weekly
"With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet." --Booklist

In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother.

One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year--and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue.

This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn't have them at all.

The truth is, Sophia Wallace's mother died when she was six years old. But that isn't how she remembers it. Not always.

Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories--snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia's seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died.

With the help of two misfit boys, she must figure out a way to bring her mother back to her--before the opportunity is lost forever.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
Limited Availability. Ships in 2-4 weeks.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 11 copies from $2.99
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Memory of Forgotten Things by Kat Zhang

 
 
 

Overview

"A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility." --School Library Journal
"A pleasure to read...full of heart and imagination." --Kirkus Reviews
"Zhang's story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist--a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance." --Publishers Weekly
"With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet." --Booklist

In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother.

One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year--and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue.

This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn't have them at all.

The truth is, Sophia Wallace's mother died when she was six years old. But that isn't how she remembers it. Not always.

Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories--snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia's seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died.

With the help of two misfit boys, she must figure out a way to bring her mother back to her--before the opportunity is lost forever.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781481478656
  • ISBN-10: 1481478656
  • Publisher: Aladdin Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: May 2018
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews