menu

The Ash Family
by Molly Dektar




Overview -
When a young woman leaves her family to join a secret off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this "stunning debut," (The New Yorker) "perfect for fans of Philip Roth's American Pastoral and the film Martha Marcy May Marlene" (Booklist, starred review).

At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins a community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can't untangle. Berie--now renamed Harmony--renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear.

"An excellent debut, Molly Dektar probes life in a cult with a masterful hand, excavating the troubled mind of a young woman," (Publishers Weekly). The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging. "A captivating and haunting tale" (New York Journal of Books).

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 45 copies from $4.41
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Ash Family by Molly Dektar

 
 
 

Overview

When a young woman leaves her family to join a secret off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this "stunning debut," (The New Yorker) "perfect for fans of Philip Roth's American Pastoral and the film Martha Marcy May Marlene" (Booklist, starred review).

At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins a community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can't untangle. Berie--now renamed Harmony--renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear.

"An excellent debut, Molly Dektar probes life in a cult with a masterful hand, excavating the troubled mind of a young woman," (Publishers Weekly). The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging. "A captivating and haunting tale" (New York Journal of Books).

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781501144875
  • ISBN-10: 1501144871
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: April 2020
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews