menu

Mr. Flood's Last Resort
by Jess Kidd




Overview -
From the award-winning author of Himself comes a spellbinding and "magically entertaining read" (Good Housekeeping, UK) about a lonely caregiver and a cranky hoarder with a house full of secrets that "will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure" (BookPage).

Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness. A tragic childhood event left her haunted, in the company of a cast of prattling saints who pop in and out of her life like tourists. Other than visiting her agoraphobic neighbor, Maud keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence--until she meets Mr. Flood.

Cathal Flood is a menace by all accounts. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion crawling with feral cats, he has been waging war against his son's attempts to put him into an old-age home and sent his last caretaker running for the madhouse. But Maud is this impossible man's last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate, bonding over their shared love of Irish folktales and mutual dislike of Mr. Flood's overbearing son.

Mr. Flood's Last Resort is "a rare delight" (Cosmopolitan, UK) examining the space between sin and sainthood, a novel that "perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy" in which "the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants" (Shelf Awareness).​

Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title The Hoarder.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 44 copies from $3.44
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Mr. Flood's Last Resort by Jess Kidd

 
 
 

Overview

From the award-winning author of Himself comes a spellbinding and "magically entertaining read" (Good Housekeeping, UK) about a lonely caregiver and a cranky hoarder with a house full of secrets that "will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure" (BookPage).

Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness. A tragic childhood event left her haunted, in the company of a cast of prattling saints who pop in and out of her life like tourists. Other than visiting her agoraphobic neighbor, Maud keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence--until she meets Mr. Flood.

Cathal Flood is a menace by all accounts. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion crawling with feral cats, he has been waging war against his son's attempts to put him into an old-age home and sent his last caretaker running for the madhouse. But Maud is this impossible man's last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate, bonding over their shared love of Irish folktales and mutual dislike of Mr. Flood's overbearing son.

Mr. Flood's Last Resort is "a rare delight" (Cosmopolitan, UK) examining the space between sin and sainthood, a novel that "perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy" in which "the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants" (Shelf Awareness).​

Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title The Hoarder.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781501180644
  • ISBN-10: 1501180649
  • Publisher: Washington Square Press
  • Publish Date: March 2019
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.3 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews