The Daughter's Tale
by Armando Lucas Correa


Overview -
From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, "searing" (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a box of letters from the distant past, taking readers on a harrowing journey from Nazi-occupied Berlin, to the South of France, to modern-day New York City.

Berlin, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the South of France. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter-rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

New York, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Her mother's words unlock a floodgate of memories, a lifetime of loss un-grieved, and a chance--at last--for closure.

Based on true events and "breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart" (The New York Times Book Review), The Daughter's Tale is an unforgettable family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $15.29
    (Save 10%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup In Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $12.50
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Daughter's Tale by Armando Lucas Correa
 
 
 
Overview
From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, "searing" (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a box of letters from the distant past, taking readers on a harrowing journey from Nazi-occupied Berlin, to the South of France, to modern-day New York City.

Berlin, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the South of France. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter-rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

New York, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Her mother's words unlock a floodgate of memories, a lifetime of loss un-grieved, and a chance--at last--for closure.

Based on true events and "breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart" (The New York Times Book Review), The Daughter's Tale is an unforgettable family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501187940
  • ISBN-10: 1501187945
  • Publisher: Washington Square Press
  • Publish Date: January 2020
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - World War II
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews