Emergency Contact
by Mary H. K. Choi


Overview - "Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." --Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory--perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a caf and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch--via text--and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $10.99
  • $8.79
    (Save 20%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
> Check In-Store Availability
search store by zipcode
In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 38 copies from $5.57
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi
 
 
 
Overview
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." --Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory--perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a caf and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch--via text--and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781534408975
  • ISBN-10: 1534408975
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2019
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Dating & Sex
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - Contemporary

 
BAM Customer Reviews