menu
{ "item_title" : "Writing in Color", "item_author" : [" Nafiza Azad", "Melody Simpson", "Julie C. Dao "], "item_description" : "Rethink the way you approach writing in this honest, useful craft book that all fledgling writers need (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) from fourteen diverse authors that demystifies craft and authorship based on their experiences as writers of color--perfect for fans of Fresh Ink and Our Stories, Our Voices. So, you're thinking of writing a book. Or, maybe you've written one, and are wondering what to do with it. What does it take to publish a novel, or even a short story? If you're a writer of color, these questions might multiply; after all, there's a lot of writing advice out there, and it can be hard to know how much of it really applies to your own experiences. If any of this sounds like you, you're in the right place: this collection of essays, written exclusively by authors of color, is here to encourage and empower writers of all ages and backgrounds to find their voice as they put pen to page. Perhaps you're just getting started. Here you'll find a whole toolkit of advice from bestselling and award-winning authors for focusing on an idea, landing on a point of view, and learning which rules were meant to be broken. Or perhaps you have questions about everything beyond the first draft: what is it really like being a published author? These writers demystify the process, sharing personal stories as they forged their own path to publication, and specifically from their perspectives as author of color. Every writer has a different journey. Maybe yours has already started. Or maybe it begins right here. Contributors include: Julie C. Dao, Chloe Gong, Joan He, Kosoko Jackson, Adiba Jaigirdar, Darcie Little Badger, Yamile Saied Méndez, Axie Oh, Laura Pohl, Cindy Pon, Karuna Riazi, Gail D. Villanueva, Julian Winters, and Kat Zhang.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers1.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/66/592/564/1665925647_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "19.99", "online_price" : "19.99", "our_price" : "19.99", "club_price" : "19.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
Writing in Color|Nafiza Azad
Writing in Color : Fourteen Writers on the Lessons We've Learned
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

Rethink the way you approach writing in this "honest, useful craft book that all fledgling writers need" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) from fourteen diverse authors that demystifies craft and authorship based on their experiences as writers of color--perfect for fans of Fresh Ink and Our Stories, Our Voices. So, you're thinking of writing a book. Or, maybe you've written one, and are wondering what to do with it. What does it take to publish a novel, or even a short story? If you're a writer of color, these questions might multiply; after all, there's a lot of writing advice out there, and it can be hard to know how much of it really applies to your own experiences. If any of this sounds like you, you're in the right place: this collection of essays, written exclusively by authors of color, is here to encourage and empower writers of all ages and backgrounds to find their voice as they put pen to page. Perhaps you're just getting started. Here you'll find a whole toolkit of advice from bestselling and award-winning authors for focusing on an idea, landing on a point of view, and learning which rules were meant to be broken. Or perhaps you have questions about everything beyond the first draft: what is it really like being a published author? These writers demystify the process, sharing personal stories as they forged their own path to publication, and specifically from their perspectives as author of color. Every writer has a different journey. Maybe yours has already started. Or maybe it begins right here. Contributors include: Julie C. Dao, Chloe Gong, Joan He, Kosoko Jackson, Adiba Jaigirdar, Darcie Little Badger, Yamile Saied Méndez, Axie Oh, Laura Pohl, Cindy Pon, Karuna Riazi, Gail D. Villanueva, Julian Winters, and Kat Zhang.

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781665925648
  • ISBN-10: 1665925647
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
  • Publish Date: August 2023
  • Dimensions: 8.46 x 5.87 x 0.97 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.77 pounds
  • Page Count: 256
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews