The Women in Black
by Madeleine St John


Overview -
"The book I most often give as a gift to cheer people up." --Hilary Mantel

A delightful debut novel set in a department store in Sydney in the 1950s.

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at Goode's department store, are busy selling ladies' dresses during the holiday rush. But they somehow find time to pursue other goals...

Patty, in her mid-thirties, has been working at Goode's for years. Her husband, Frank, eats a steak for dinner every night, watches a few minutes of TV, and then turns in. Patty yearns for a baby, but Frank is always too tired for that kind of thing.

Sweet, unlucky Fay wants to settle down with a nice man, but somehow nice men don't see her as marriage material.

Glamorous Magda runs the high-end gowns department. A Slovenian migr , Magda is cultured and continental and hopes to open her own boutique one day.

Lisa, a clever and shy teenager, takes a job at Goode's during her school break. Lisa wants to go to university and dreams of becoming a poet, but her father objects to both notions.

By the time the last marked-down dress is sold, all of their lives will be forever changed.

A pitch-perfect comedy of manners set during a pivotal era, and perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, The Women in Black conjures the energy of a city on the cusp of change and is a testament to the timeless importance of female friendship.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $12.32
    (Save 23%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup In Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 9 copies from $13.04
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Women in Black by Madeleine St John
 
 
 
Overview
"The book I most often give as a gift to cheer people up." --Hilary Mantel

A delightful debut novel set in a department store in Sydney in the 1950s.

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at Goode's department store, are busy selling ladies' dresses during the holiday rush. But they somehow find time to pursue other goals...

Patty, in her mid-thirties, has been working at Goode's for years. Her husband, Frank, eats a steak for dinner every night, watches a few minutes of TV, and then turns in. Patty yearns for a baby, but Frank is always too tired for that kind of thing.

Sweet, unlucky Fay wants to settle down with a nice man, but somehow nice men don't see her as marriage material.

Glamorous Magda runs the high-end gowns department. A Slovenian migr , Magda is cultured and continental and hopes to open her own boutique one day.

Lisa, a clever and shy teenager, takes a job at Goode's during her school break. Lisa wants to go to university and dreams of becoming a poet, but her father objects to both notions.

By the time the last marked-down dress is sold, all of their lives will be forever changed.

A pitch-perfect comedy of manners set during a pivotal era, and perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, The Women in Black conjures the energy of a city on the cusp of change and is a testament to the timeless importance of female friendship.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781982134082
  • ISBN-10: 1982134089
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publish Date: February 2020
  • Page Count: 224
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Romance - Contemporary
Books > Fiction > Women

 
BAM Customer Reviews