menu
{ "item_title" : "Bad Things Happen", "item_author" : [" Harry Dolan "], "item_description" : "A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher--and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with--turns up dead. The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll--a man who soon turns up dead. Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up--some of them echoing stories published in the magazine--it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself. Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year. --Washington Post A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard.--Douglas Preston Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)", "item_img_path" : "https://covers3.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/42/523/440/0425234401_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "16.00", "online_price" : "16.00", "our_price" : "16.00", "club_price" : "16.00", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
Bad Things Happen|Harry Dolan
Bad Things Happen
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher--and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with--turns up dead. The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll--a man who soon turns up dead. Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up--some of them echoing stories published in the magazine--it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself. "Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." --Washington Post "A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard."--Douglas Preston "Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425234402
  • ISBN-10: 0425234401
  • Publisher: Penguin Adult Hc/Tr
  • Publish Date: June 2010
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews