menu

A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem
by Manda Collins




Overview -
Manda] Collins is a delight (Elizabeth Hoyt) in this fun and flirty historical rom-com, where an intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective -- perfect for fans of Tessa Dare, Julia Quinn, and Netflix's Enola Holmes
England, 1865: Newspaper columnist Lady Katherine Bascomb finds herself the subject of speculation when her latest article leads to an arrest in the murders plaguing London. The English believe women ought not to write about such vulgar things as crime, and a particularly attractive detective inspector is incensed that she's interfered with his investigation. To escape her sudden notoriety, Katherine heads to the country-only to witness a murder upon her arrival.
Detective Inspector Andrew Eversham is appalled when Lady Katherine entangles herself in one of his cases-again. Her sensationalist reporting already nearly got him kicked off the police force, and he'll be damned if he permits her to meddle a second time. Yet, her questions are awfully insightful, and he can't deny his attraction to both her beauty and brains. As the clues point to a dangerous criminal, the two soon realize their best option is working together. But with their focus on the killer lurking in the shadows, neither is prepared for the other risk the case poses-to their hearts.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $14.99
  • $12.73
    (Save 15%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 96 copies from $3.27
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem by Manda Collins

 
 
 

Overview

Manda] Collins is a delight (Elizabeth Hoyt) in this fun and flirty historical rom-com, where an intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective -- perfect for fans of Tessa Dare, Julia Quinn, and Netflix's Enola Holmes
England, 1865: Newspaper columnist Lady Katherine Bascomb finds herself the subject of speculation when her latest article leads to an arrest in the murders plaguing London. The English believe women ought not to write about such vulgar things as crime, and a particularly attractive detective inspector is incensed that she's interfered with his investigation. To escape her sudden notoriety, Katherine heads to the country-only to witness a murder upon her arrival.
Detective Inspector Andrew Eversham is appalled when Lady Katherine entangles herself in one of his cases-again. Her sensationalist reporting already nearly got him kicked off the police force, and he'll be damned if he permits her to meddle a second time. Yet, her questions are awfully insightful, and he can't deny his attraction to both her beauty and brains. As the clues point to a dangerous criminal, the two soon realize their best option is working together. But with their focus on the killer lurking in the shadows, neither is prepared for the other risk the case poses-to their hearts.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781538736135
  • ISBN-10: 1538736136
  • Publisher: Forever
  • Publish Date: November 2020
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.25 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds

Series: Ladies Most Scandalous #1

Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

Romance: November 2020

Prank wars, a country house murder and a passle of irrepressible children add zing to three very sweet romances.

★ My Last Duchess

Eloisa James pens a truly delightful prologue to her popular Wildes of Lindow Castle series in My Last Duchess, the love story of the family’s patriarch and matriarch. Hugo Wilde has eight children from two duchesses and is now in need of a third wife. There’s all those children, after all, ranging in age from 2 to 18. He had planned to make a sensible choice until he took one look at widow Lady Ophelia Astley. In keeping with Wilde family tradition, he falls in passionate love at first sight. But what does he have to offer her except the stultifying life of a duchess, not to mention those eight children? Their path to happiness is mostly smooth—who can resist a sexy, kind, besotted duke?—yet the journey is great fun all the same. The banter is witty, the secondary characters are exquisitely well drawn, and the glimpses of the children will cause readers who have read their stories to smile and entice those who have not.


ALSO IN BOOKPAGE: Eloisa James reveals how she made instalove work.


A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

Manda Collins smoothly blends romance and an English country-house whodunit in A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem. Newspaper owner Lady Katherine Bascomb pens an article critical of Scotland Yard’s investigation into the murders attributed to the “Commandments Killer,” causing Inspector Andrew Eversham to be pulled off the case. But he gets a second chance at stopping the villain when a similar killing occurs in a small village near the estate where the very curious and very stubborn Kate currently resides. Despite the class barrier between them, the pair realizes they have equally clever minds and an undeniable physical chemistry. The twists and turns of the plot will keep readers guessing, but Kate’s independent attitude and the interesting friends she gathers around her bring the story to vivid life.

The Cul-de-Sac War

Two neighboring houses, a big, slobbering dog without boundaries and one unwelcome attraction add up to a madcap romance in The Cul-de-Sac War by Melissa Ferguson. From the moment hunky, stubborn contractor Chip moves in next door to the home that free spirit Bree inherited from a relative, alarm bells go off. When Chip refuses to move a fence line, sparks fly and pranks ensue until they’re in a full-fledged war. But as these likable characters become better acquainted, they share serious thoughts about happiness, death, family and work. Love follows, but can they admit to it? This kisses-only inspirational romance is a sweet treat with a soft center.

 

BAM Customer Reviews