)
Out of My Mind
by Sharon M. Draper


Overview - Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

"If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." -- Denver Post
"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 105 copies from $3.45
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper
 
 
 
Overview
Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

"If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." --Denver Post
"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all." --Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781416971702
  • ISBN-10: 141697170X
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: March 2010
  • Page Count: 295
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-13
  • Dimensions: 7.3 x 5.7 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.66 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Disabilities & Special Needs
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General (see also headings under Social Themes)

 
BookPage Reviews

Finding her voice

Melody Brooks is smart, very smart. And she knows what she wants to say most of the time. Trouble is, she can’t—she literally cannot speak. “It’s no wonder everybody thinks I’m retarded. . . . I hate that word, by the way.” Diagnosed with cerebral palsy and wheelchair-bound, 10-year-old Melody can’t walk or talk, but her mind is filled with words, sounds, colors, phrases, music and just about everything else she’s ever seen or heard—though it doesn’t do her much good stored silently inside. “It’s like I live in a cage with no door and no key. And I have no way to tell someone how to get me out,” Melody thinks.

Told through the eyes, ears and mind of Melody, Out of My Mind is loosely based on the experiences of the author’s daughter. It’s a startlingly candid, pull-no-punches account of a life that is often frustrating but also uplifting.

While schoolmates and even some teachers dismiss her, Melody is never underestimated by family and close friends. The book crescendos to two major events in Melody’s life—both of which have life-changing results.

Hopefully the novel will be life-changing for readers as well. It’s hard to put down Melody’s tale in all its rawness and honesty. The chapters are fast-paced; events are brilliantly described. And while Melody is the star, Sharon Draper also vividly draws the characters who interact with her.

But don’t peg this as a gloom-and-doom book about a girl with special needs. By the end of the book, readers will not only triumph with Melody, they will also unequivocally gain a deeper insight into what the word “disabled” really means.

A must for middle-grade readers, Out of My Mind should launch great discussions in families and classrooms.

Freelance writer Sharon Verbeten lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, where she faces her own joys and challenges in raising a special-needs child

 
BAM Customer Reviews