menu

Out of Place
by Jennifer Blecher and Merrilee Liddiard




Overview -

When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha's Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn't the worst place to be after all.

Jennifer Blecher's debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First.

Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein's year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha's Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible.

But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove's visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn't know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes.

Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn't know how to undo.

Jennifer Blecher's accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead's Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall's The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City.

Includes black-and-white spot art throughout.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About Out of Place by Jennifer Blecher; Merrilee Liddiard

 
 
 

Overview

When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha's Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn't the worst place to be after all.

Jennifer Blecher's debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First.

Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein's year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha's Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible.

But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove's visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn't know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes.

Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn't know how to undo.

Jennifer Blecher's accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead's Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall's The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City.

Includes black-and-white spot art throughout.



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062748591
  • ISBN-10: 0062748599
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Publish Date: June 2019
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews