menu

Rival Magic
by Deva Fagan




Overview -
"Clever, fast-paced fantasy punctuated with surprising twists and plenty of girl power." --Kirkus Reviews
"Full of fierce girls, fabulously fun magic, humor, and so much heart. I loved it " --Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and Kat, Incorrigible

A young wizard's apprentice discovers that the best magic is not the biggest or the brightest, but the magic unique to you, in this cinematic middle grade fantasy in the tradition of Kiki's Delivery Service and The School for Good and Evil.

Antonia may not be the most powerful wizard the world has ever seen, but she's worked hard to win her place as apprentice to renowned sorcerer Master Betrys. Unfortunately, even her best dancing turnip charm might not be enough when Moppe, the scullery maid, turns out to be a magical prodigy. Now that Betrys has taken Moppe on as a second apprentice, Antonia's path to wizarding just got a bit more complicated.

But when Betrys is accused of treason, Antonia and Moppe are forced to go on the run. To prove their master's innocence--and their own--the rivals must become allies. As their island province teeters on the brink of rebellion, they'll face ancient spells, vengeful mermaids, voice-stealing forests, and one insatiable sea monster.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $14.51
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  •  
    [-] Other Available FormatsOur PriceNew & Used Marketplace
    Rival Magic (Paperback)
    Published: 2021-04-20
    Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
    $7.99
 
 

More About Rival Magic by Deva Fagan

 
 
 

Overview

"Clever, fast-paced fantasy punctuated with surprising twists and plenty of girl power." --Kirkus Reviews
"Full of fierce girls, fabulously fun magic, humor, and so much heart. I loved it " --Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and Kat, Incorrigible

A young wizard's apprentice discovers that the best magic is not the biggest or the brightest, but the magic unique to you, in this cinematic middle grade fantasy in the tradition of Kiki's Delivery Service and The School for Good and Evil.

Antonia may not be the most powerful wizard the world has ever seen, but she's worked hard to win her place as apprentice to renowned sorcerer Master Betrys. Unfortunately, even her best dancing turnip charm might not be enough when Moppe, the scullery maid, turns out to be a magical prodigy. Now that Betrys has taken Moppe on as a second apprentice, Antonia's path to wizarding just got a bit more complicated.

But when Betrys is accused of treason, Antonia and Moppe are forced to go on the run. To prove their master's innocence--and their own--the rivals must become allies. As their island province teeters on the brink of rebellion, they'll face ancient spells, vengeful mermaids, voice-stealing forests, and one insatiable sea monster.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781534439054
  • ISBN-10: 1534439056
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2020
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews