menu
{ "item_title" : "The River Has Teeth", "item_author" : [" Erica Waters "], "item_description" : "Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.Girls have been going missing in the woods... When Natasha's sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a witch, in the hopes that magic will bring her sister home. But Della has her own secrets to hide. She thinks the beast who's responsible for the disappearances is her own mother--who was turned into a terrible monster by magic gone wrong. Natasha is angry. Della has little to lose. Both are each other's only hope. From the author of Ghost Wood Song, this eerie contemporary fantasy is perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Bone Gap. Praise for Ghost Wood Song: A gorgeous, creepy gem of a book. --Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Sawkill Girls It will make your heart dance. --Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye DaysStrikes the perfect balance of atmospheric chills, dark familial secrets, and a yearning for the warm comforts of home. --Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and SorrowsWaters' debut features a bisexual lead with both male and female love interests, an atmospheric southern gothic setting, and, for the musically inclined, lots of folk and bluegrass references. --BooklistHaunting and alluring. --Kirkus", "item_img_path" : "https://covers3.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/06/289/425/0062894250_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "17.99", "online_price" : "17.99", "our_price" : "17.99", "club_price" : "17.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "17.99" } }
The River Has Teeth|Erica Waters
The River Has Teeth
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.

Girls have been going missing in the woods...

When Natasha's sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a witch, in the hopes that magic will bring her sister home.

But Della has her own secrets to hide. She thinks the beast who's responsible for the disappearances is her own mother--who was turned into a terrible monster by magic gone wrong.

Natasha is angry. Della has little to lose. Both are each other's only hope.

From the author of Ghost Wood Song, this eerie contemporary fantasy is perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Bone Gap.

Praise for Ghost Wood Song:

"A gorgeous, creepy gem of a book." --Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Sawkill Girls

"It will make your heart dance." --Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

"Strikes the perfect balance of atmospheric chills, dark familial secrets, and a yearning for the warm comforts of home." --Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

"Waters' debut features a bisexual lead with both male and female love interests, an atmospheric southern gothic setting, and, for the musically inclined, lots of folk and bluegrass references." --Booklist

"Haunting and alluring." --Kirkus

  • ISBN-13: 9780062894250
  • ISBN-10: 0062894250
  • Publisher: Harperteen
  • Publish Date: July 2021
  • Dimensions: 8.55 x 5.8 x 1.25 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17

The River Has Teeth

Della Lloyd’s family has drawn their magic from the Bend, a stretch of river and woodland known to locals as Wood Thrush Nature Park, for generations. Recently, however, something has gone terribly wrong with the woods and their magic that Della can’t explain. Almost a year ago, a spell left her mother cursed to be transformed into a monstrous river siren each night, and now a string of girls has disappeared in the park. 

Among them is Rochelle Greymont, whose sister, Natasha, will stop at nothing to find her. While Natasha suspects Rochelle’s abusive boyfriend, Jake, of foul play, Della secretly worries her bloodthirsty mother might be the real culprit. Natasha’s anger and desperation lead her to beg Della for magical assistance in tracking down Rochelle, but neither girl is prepared for the terrible secrets their search will unearth. 

Erica Waters’ second novel (after 2020’s Ghost Wood Song) is a richly atmospheric mystery that isn’t afraid to delve deep into the darkness of its premise, and the Bend provides a perfect backdrop for its story. It’s a foreboding place, steeped in a long history of violence and filled with creatures that are not what they seem to be. Even Della, who loves the Bend and feels connected to the rich plant life it harbors, can’t ignore the threat its increasingly twisted magic poses. 

While both Della and Natasha are driven by the need to protect the people they love, Waters never shies away from the harsher sides of her heroines. “I’d kill a hundred park visitors myself before I’d let my momma die,” Della admits early on, while Natasha wants Jake to suffer for how he treated her sister as much as she wants him to confess. Waters gives Della’s and Natasha’s feelings of rage, grief and fear plenty of space to seethe without judgment. The result is a cathartic portrait of two girls’ anger toward a world whose cruelty and injustice forced them to fight back. 

Full of dangers both magical and mundane, The River Has Teeth delivers ferociously good thrills.