menu

Saving Winslow
by Sharon Creech




Overview -

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $6.29
 
 
 
 

More About Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

 
 
 

Overview

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062570710
  • ISBN-10: 0062570714
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: September 2019
  • Page Count: 176
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-11
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.1 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.3 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews